I’m not happy! Why? Egyptian women are left out of the constitution process!

I have just learned that no women have been named to the national committee which is in charge of writing the new Egyptian constitution! What is going on? For one of the first times in modern history, Egyptian women stood bravely by the sides of their men when protesting and bringing down the Mubarak government. Now they are being pushed aside.

Once again, women have been sidelined from a very important political process.

Nothing much will change in the world of women so long as men only are in charge of making the rules. Every decision making committee or board should be evenly split between men and women — 50/50 — not only is it fair, it makes sense. Women bring a lot ot the table. Everyone who cares about the state of our world should demand that women be a part of this very important political process — otherwise, the Egyptian peoples call for greater freedoms means nothing.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Egypt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m not happy! Why? Egyptian women are left out of the constitution process!

  1. Lauren says:

    Jean,
    Here’s something from Saudi Arabia you might find interesting (or, maybe you already heard about it!)
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20110328/wl_afp/saudivotewomenrights
    Sincerely,
    Lauren Kirk
    PS: Any chance the princess will write another book with you to update us on her life and her daughters?

    • jeansasson says:

      Hi Lauren! Actually, I’ve had an unusual week of missing most of the news! So, I’m really happy to receive this. I’m to speak with Princess Sultana next week and I want to ask her about it and report back to everyone.

      In fact, we have been discussing the fact we might need book #4, but I am encouraging her to wait until we see more change in Saudi — besides, I am in the unfortuate position of having no time to write a 4th book at the moment. Perhaps next year… I’m so glad that people still care about her, and other women… Talk later, Jean

      • Lauren says:

        Thanks for the reply, Jean! Also, I was just in DC and was able to see the Imax 3D movie Arabia at the Natural History Museum. It was interesting (we got to see some of the Muslim holy places) but it only barely touched on women’s issues and tried to make it look like changes were rampent (women at the new University)… It really was good PR for their country, but did nothing to touch the subject of the daily lives of women there, which was disappointing. Plus, what’s the point of good PR- I’m pretty sure American’s can’t visit Saudi Arabia anyway!

      • jeansasson says:

        Lauren, you are right, most Americans cannot visit Saudi. The Saudi government claims that they allow tourists, and they have begun to allow VERY LIMITED numbers. But, I have heard that they are so strict on those visitors that they can’t do anything much but be driven to “Saudi government sanctioned sites” and that they never get to meet the ordinary Saudi. This kind of a “tour” won’t tempt many people to go there. I’m so glad that I lived in the kingdom for 12 years and lived in a Saudi neighborhood much of that time and had a truly great experience… I feel very fortunate.

  2. Shalini says:

    Hi Jean!

    I totally agree with your post. These brave Egyptian women risked sexual assault and even their lives to fight for freedom from the Mubarak regime. It is appaling that they were not even given one female member of parliament to serve as their representation. My heart breaks for these women who fought so hard in the hopes of a better future for themselves, only to have their hopes dashed.
    We, as free women, need to do something to ensure that these women get their voices heard. I find it very sad that the western media has not paid much attention to these women. We’ve all seen stories about how the revolution occurred; heard various pundits analyze the whos, whats and whens, yet, I have not heard one story about the marginalized Egyptian women and their lack of political representation. It’s truly sad indeed…

    • jeansasson says:

      Shalini, It seems that the Egyptians are not going to accept it unless there is good change. I see that they are calling for more protests. I only hope that in the heated moments that their women are not forgotten. The Egyptian women have always been braver than most women and I pray that they are not forgotten!

Leave a Reply

