Court makes outrageous ruling in Saudi!

I’m sad to report that maids in Saudi Arabia are often horribly mistreated. And in many cases, it is the women of the household who abuse these helpless women. I knew of many cases when I was working in Saudi. But NOTHING has been more outrageous than a recent ruling by a Mecca court who acquitted a Saudi woman who tortured, beat, stabbed, and burned her Indonesian housemaid. Beautiful Sumiati Binti Salan Mustapa, only 23 years old, was hideously burned by the Saudi woman who was her boss. GET THIS: The Saudi woman claimed that Sumiati had beaten herself! The court swallowed the story and released the Saudi woman. This is not unusual in Saudi Arabia. It is almost impossible for a foreign worker to get justice. I am so distressed for this woman’s plight. I want her story to become known throughout the world and perhaps I will be the one to tell it.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Saudi Arabia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Court makes outrageous ruling in Saudi!

  1. jeansasson says:

    I am going to call the princess and alert her to this news. Who knows IF she has heard of this. Perhaps she can put pressure so that justice is served. Wish me luck!

  2. karen thomas says:

    Good luck jean i hope the princess can help this poor girl and others and i hope princess sultana is allright and all is good

  3. Maria says:

    Good luck!!! … God helps all this foreign employees in Saudi Arabia…. I wish one day the employees get tired of receive bad and non-human treats, and hopefully the day comes that the Saudis have to do the work done by the poor in need

Leave a Reply

