ALERT! Egyptian Women arrested and forced “virginity testing”

Wasn’t the Egyptian Military supposed to bring in a new and kinder government than the previous Murbarak regime, well known for its regressive approach to anyone who protested against the government?  Get this:  Women who were arrested during a peaceful protest on March 9th were forced  to take a virginity test!  Told they would be charged with prostitution if they failed the tests, the women were humiliated to strip searches while men they did not know watched the proceedings and were allowed to take photographs!  As a human being who cares about others, I am outraged.  Who knows what will happen to these women in conservative Egypt.  Our sisters in Egypt are being subjected to this degrading treatment at the hands of one regime who claimed they would rise above the regime they replaced.  NOT!!!!

Please share this wretching story so that the Egyptian military government knows that the world is watching.  To all Egyptians:  Watch out or you will find that you have replaced one repressive government with another.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Egyptian WOMEN. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ALERT! Egyptian Women arrested and forced “virginity testing”

  1. talei says:

    Jean,

    Thank you so much for all you do to bring these disturbing and often times atrocious issues to the forefront.

    This situation in Egypt is degrading and dehumanizing – with all the turmoil going on in the Middle East, I hope they don’t get rid of one oppressive regime just to replace with another oppressive regime.

  2. jeansasson says:

    Thanks so much Talei… You and I are like-minded on this subject. I am just horrified at the thought of what those innocent women endured. Made me remember the women in Mayada’s cell in Iraq who were demeaned and abused by their guards. I feel so helpless sometimes and find myself grinding my teeth in sheer frustration.

  3. This made me cringe and want to cry when I read it. I know an Egyptian girl who was forced to do the same thing–by her own brother. And this girl is an absolute angel!!

    i know this is old news, but nevertheless I hope that this doesn’t happen again. After all, the army recently shot at the peaceful Christian protesters—I wish they’d learn that shooting civilians is not the answer.😦

    http://thespectatorssport.wordpress.com/

    • jeansasson says:

      I agree 100%… And, tragic story about the Egyptian girl… Did the brother examine her? (What a ghastly thought.) Or, did he force her to undergo examination by someone else?

Leave a Reply

