A lot to think about….If everyone would just BE NICE!

Paris in her kitty condo

Spring has come to the deep south and today was as beautiful as it gets.  I took the morning off and watched “Sunday Morning” on CBS.  The entire hour and a half was  was devoted to our human love of animals.  It was fun watching humans go crazy for Koala Bears or doggies or other animal species.  I always enjoy such shows because I am one of the world’s most enthusiastic animal lovers, to the point that my many animal sagas have greatly entertained my friends, and for that matter, many strangers!  After the show went off the air, I sat on the back porch with Jack and Paris (the most beautiful and most intelligent and most socially-advanced kitty in the world-although she came to us frightened and abandoned, she has taken to the good life with the greatest of ease).  I sat in the swing and chatted with Jack while admiring Paris’ dramatic black beauty as she happily perched on her kitty condo, and listening to our loud-mouthed birds, most flitting from limb to limb.  None of them swooped down for a drink from the new water fountain I had installed just for them, so that was a bit of a disappointment!  As I was sitting there counting my blessings to be the beneficiary of such a perfect Sunday morning, I was struck by the sad idea that few people have it so lucky.   I’ve always been a very serious person (although I have a lot of joy in my heart) and suddenly I felt deep sadness knowing that so many people on earth have never known what it feels like to have a full stomach, or to live without fear of being harmed.  How tragic it is that many millions of children go to bed hungry at night, and millions of women are living hopeless lives, thinking that they have nowhere to turn and that no one cares.   How horrifying that so many children die before they are five years old.  What about the truly nice young women who leave their families to go to work abroad, only to discover too late that they are expected to work as slaves, to be beaten daily, to endure rapes.  Those women have nowhere to turn and are stranded in a virtual hell until their employers release them to return to their homeland.  And, in the case of the young woman I wrote about a few days ago, to be stabbed and burned by her employer.   I hate the helplessness that overpowers me when considering the huge numbers of people who are desperate for help.  Although since I was 14 years old, I have been sending money to organizations or to individuals, I often get that sinking feeling that surely, I could have done so much more.  While considering all these tragic stories, I thought back to my darling mother, a person who grew up very poor (after her father died when she was only 8 years old) but she spent her life doing for others.  I well remember that she was always baking or cooking for the sick and shut-in, and who, even at age 75, was taking neighbors and friends to their doctor’s appointments, and cooking meals, and running their errands.  She took perfect care of her little circle of friends and relatives.  That’s when I remembered that I never left the house when mom didn’t send me off with these words, “Be nice, Jean.  Be nice to everyone you see today.”   Her words never left me.  Thinking about her mother’s wisdom today, I couldn’t help but think that many of the problems we face on this earth could be eliminated if only everyone would be nice.  If only employers would not think it their right to abuse their servants, and instead, BE NICE.  If only the military regime in Egypt would do an about face and BE NICE to the Egyptian citizens.  For God’s sake, stop the virginity testing on young innocent women who are only making their ideas for freedom known.  If only rulers would rule for the good of their citizens, rather than pleasing themselves and their greedy relatives — BE NICE!   I do understand that I sound like a bit of a pollyanna (Mayada always laughingly accuses me of being a pollyanna) but honestly, it is so easy to BE NICE.  I don’t understand how it is that so many people can be cruel and see no wrong with their cruel behaviors.  Anyhow, just thinking about what a wonderful world it could be if only everyone could take my mother’s words to heart and be nice.  Be nice to everyone we see on this life journey.   This blog must end for Miss Paris just walked in the office and she is demanding to have her tummy scratched!  I’m off to be nice to my kitty cat. Paris waiting for her mommy to play with her

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Mother. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A lot to think about….If everyone would just BE NICE!

  1. Shalini says:

    What a wise woman your mother was Jean! My grandparents taught me the same when I was little. I don’t think I’ll ever forget their words….

    Anyway, I don’t know if you’ve see this article yet http://www.npr.org/2011/04/19/135523441/women-press-for-a-voice-in-the-new-egypt

    I think it’ll make your day!

Leave a Reply

