A funny thing happened: The royal Wedding and a cat who understands English

A funny thing happened me to regarding the wedding of William and Catherine.  Although I’m not a royalist, I admit to feeling affection for Diana’s two boys and do admire Catherine Middleton, who seems the perfect partner for Diana’s first born.  The couple’s love story is very sweet and seems to be just the thing needed for the British royal family.  On a sad note, I’ve been feeling morose that Diana is in the grave and unable to share the enormous joys of seeing her two handsome and kindly sons grow into adulthood, and to be a part of one of the most important occasions of William’s life.  Although I missed Diana and Charle’s wedding (I was living in Saudi Arabia) I felt an unexpected urge to watch William and Catherine wed.  Jack doesn’t give a fig for the royals and believes them hopelessly outdated.  He couldn’t believe it when I announced that I planned on waking at 4AM EST to view the event.  He didn’t try to talk me out of it, but he shook his head in bafflement when I told him my plans.  During this same time, Paris, our sweet cat, who is the most intelligent animal I’ve ever known,  (and, I’ve shared my life and home with a host of sweet/intelligent  animals) appeared to listen carefully as we discussed the wedding and the early hour I would have to wake up to view it.   (Paris is a talker.  She enters all family conversations.  She gives instructions in cat language, but combined with her body language, there is never a doubt what she is communicating.  She also has a cute little habit cocking her little head while watching us as we talk.  That’s what she did last evening.   She obviously went to bed with the wedding on her mind.)  A lot of things were going on last evening and I forgot to set the clock.  Would you believe that at 10 minutes before 4AM, Paris started shouting, yelling at me in cat speech.  I groggily woke up, fearing that the house might be on fire, then remembered the wedding.  I got correct channel going JUST IN TIME to see the guests filing in a couple of hours before the ceremony.  At such an early hour, I drifted back to sleep, but just as Catherine and her father were being driven through the streets, Paris once again came to the rescue.  This time she sat on my chest and yelled in my face.  She has NEVER done this before.   I leapt to attention, and saw that I was about to miss the actual ceremony.  But Paris cuddled up next to me and together we watched the rest of the ceremony.  She never took her eyes off the screen!

Generally in the mornings, Paris is extremely active and must be scratched and played with, but after

Paris, exhausted after hours of wedding watching!

those long hours of wedding watching, Paris is now taking a long and well-deserved nap in her daddy’s arms.  

After sharing my life so with this sweet and highly intelligent cat, I wonder how anyone can think it a good idea to so cruelly use cats as lab animals, or any animal as a lab animal, for that matter.   But, that’s a very serious subject that I’ll address on another day.   

For now, I’m glad I watched the wedding, and although as said, I’m not a royalist, I’m wishing the royals Williams and Catherine endless happiness.  And, I’ll be forever sorry that Diana is missing what the rest of us are seeing.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Royals. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A funny thing happened: The royal Wedding and a cat who understands English

  1. Lauren says:

    Jean,

    Any new blog posts coming about the death of Osama bin Laden? Any word from his son etc?

  2. jeansasson says:

    I had a conversation with two family members last evening. But it was a private conversation so I certainly won’t be posting anything told to me. I do have my own thoughts about a few things and perhaps later today will post my own thoughts. There’s a lot being said out there and I’ve noticed that much of it is pure speculation, things said I know not to be true. I have seen Omar and/or Najwa quoted from the book, which is certainly okay and was to be expected. Thanks, Lauren…

  3. Caroline says:

    Animals are wonderful! My dog is fluent in Dogenese and is quite able to communicate in human.

    I also loved the wedding of Wills and Cate and vividly remembered his parents wedding. Only after seeing comparative photos of the weddings did I realize how sad and frightened Diana looked the day of her wedding. She was so very young.

    You are my favorite author in the world and I am unashamedly proud of a Southern Sister who made it in a very tough field. I have read most of your books and recommended them often. I when I finished the ‘Princess’ books, I felt sad as there were no more to be read. What a great series of books that was. Keep up the good work. I look forward to the next one.

  4. jeansasson says:

    Hi Caroline! Please excuse the delay but I have been away and I don’t carry a laptop. I’m on the computer so much in my home office that I have stubbornly refused to purchase a laptop, so when I travel, I’m out of touch. I’ll have to change that soon, (sigh)…

    What kind of a dog companion do you have? I love all doggies and catties and birdies and really, any kind of life, although I don’t snuggle up to reptiles!

    I am very attached to William and Katherine and generally I am not too interested in the royal family. But these two seem to have gotten it right. I am pulling for them to have a long and happy marriage.

    Gosh, I feel very humbled that I’m your favorite author! That’s quite a compliment and I thank you profoundly. It is a tough field and getting tougher because with ebooks so many people believe they should have books free, not thinking that most authors make their living writing books. I hate to see the day when it will be difficult to hold a hard copy of a book in my hand…. I will be doing a new chapter for PRINCESS SULTANA’S CIRCLE for release next year. The princess is currently gathering up all the latest for me to write about. I have other books in the works, too, that is if I can find time to get myself in my computer writing room and get to work! Thank you, again. It was lovely hearing from you and I hope to hear from you again.

  5. Caroline says:

    Hi Jean
    Thanks for your response. I just talked a friend into buying a couple of your books last week so I told her you answered my post. We were both impressed! 😉

    My baby is a black and white mini parti-poodle. I use her as my avatar a lot, so I added her photo here just like a proud mamma. She has a lot of little joys such as smiling for me, wiping her feet when she comes inside and she wears her sunglasses like the diva she is.

    I don’t go for snakes either. I’m going to Africa later this year and I’ve been inquiring of a friend (who is from SA) about the snakes. She assures me I’m ‘probably’ safe although I’d love for her to up the probability a little… to maybe 100%. 😉

    I’m thrilled to learn that the princess book will be updated soon. I donated the whole series to our local library as I felt there were so many learning tools there for women. Then, I bought them again for myself. I get very possessive of my ‘good’ books and have a very hard time ‘letting go’. Oh, I still have Mayada, Love in a Torn Land and the others too.

    Have a nice summer.

Leave a Reply

