Osama Bin Laden’s identification and sea burial

Getting to know the family of Omar Bin Laden has taught me an important lesson — we can’t let our anger against one person flow over onto innocent family members.  Everyone should understand that Omar’s family is in mourning.  I dare say they are not mourning for Osama the head of Al-Qaeda, but Osama the son, the husband, and the father.  I have discovered that the family of Omar Bin Laden are innocent and good people.  In fact, Omar has inspired me over the past few years.  He is a young man who truly yearns for peace and for happiness.  That says a lot for him since he was raised in Al-Qaeda training camps by a man who wanted him to follow in his footsteps.

I believe that the US military handled this situation in a highly professional military manner.  Those Seals leave me in awe. In view of the fact that half the world will not believe the USA’s version of events, my only question is this:  Why didn’t the US arrange for two or three of Osama’s close family members to fly to the ship where Osama was taken and to have those family members positively identify their brother, or father, be what it may.  We’ve found that many people pay no heed to DNA (think OJ’s trial)…  I’m really really sorry that this did not occur.  It might have taken a few more hours, but it would have been well worth it.  I’m sure that several of Osama’s brothers, and perhaps his son Omar, would have liked the opportunity to make a positive identification.  Such a finding would have made a huge difference in the world of naysayers.  Having loose ends regarding such an important situation is never a good thing…  Now a complicated situation is even more complicated!

As far as the sea burial, which is a bitter pill for Muslims (the only reason a Muslim can be buried at sea is if the sea journey is so long that the body will decay), I don’t know the answer to the very real dilemma of arranging a proper burial.  It was interesting to me that the Saudi government refused the body.  And, I do understand the importance of avoiding any kind of shrine.   I also remember that the bodies of many victims of 9/11 were never recovered, and their sad families never had a chance to bury the remains of their loved ones.  This is important for us all to remember:  the victims of all the Al-Qaeda attacks that harmed so many innocent people–the ones left living have the anguish of losing their loved ones, and for nothing.  I remember all the little children who never saw their parents again.  I remember the young fathers and mothers who never got the chance to raise their babies.  I remember the wives and husbands who never got the chance to say goodbye.

It’s important for us all to remember all the innocent victims, those whose lives were lost, and those who lived in a special kind of anguish while mourning their lost loved ones.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Osama Bin Laden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Osama Bin Laden’s identification and sea burial

  1. Lisa says:

    I completely understand. I feel the same way. When I found out that he died. My mind went straight to your book and to Omar and his mother and brothers and sisters. And his other wives and children. Osama Bin Laden might have been our villian in a not so made up story, in real life, and knew that it would likely come down to his demise, but my heart goes out to his family. The innocent families of a most hated man. If you keep in contact with Omar and his mother, please let them know that through his effort in coming to you, and through your very eloquently written book, his story has gotten through at least to me. And that my heart goes out to him and his mother.

    • jeansasson says:

      Thank you, Lisa… I have passed on your sympathies to Omar and the family. They are very grateful that people understand their grief. I guess you heard that Najwa’s mother died a few days ago? She had a massive stroke after being told about Osama being executed. She died that same day. Poor Najwa – she loved her mother so….

  2. dangermom says:

    I also thought of your book, Omar, and especially Najwa.

  3. Mawiyah says:

    Osama´s death goes against the universal ethical principle of ” don´t kill ” and international agreements that determine the arrest, trial and punishment of the accused. So if Hussein did to Iraq. With Osama, if preferred execution intentioned. Burial at sea is a crime against piety, family law that each family has to bury their dead, criminals or not, therefore, never cease to be human. No justice. It was made revenge, always wrong. Now, my heart goes out to Omar and his Najwa.

  4. jeansasson says:

    Dear Mawiyah, The family has released a statement which should be out tomorrow. While they do feel great sorrow and sympathy for all the 9/11 victims (and other terror victims) they felt that if Osama did not resist, that he should have been arrested and tried. They said that had expected that of America… I will pass along your condolances to them. Thank you… Jean

  5. Jake says:

    Osama deserves to burn in hell. His death morally wrong? Really…

  6. jeansasson says:

    Many many people share your sentiment, Jake… There’s a lot of anguish attached to this entire issue… Jean

  7. Pandora says:

    I wouldn’t have wasted my time having Osama’s relatives identify him. When people do not wish to believe something it mattters not what they are offered as proof. There are unfortunately people who won’t believe this cretin is dead no matter what the United States did.

    A bitter pill? Quit whining. Osama finally did something useful for the planet …. he fed crustaceans.

    • jeansasson says:

      Well, in my opinion, it never hurts to be kind to others. Najwa and her children have never harmed a soul on this earth. I give those sons credit for never ever joining Al-Qaeda or for agreeing with their father’s actions. It’s not for the father, as most condemn his acts, but for his family, who you would have to know to understand. But the beautiful thing about our world is everyone has a right to their own opinion.

  8. Pandora says:

    Osama’s family may not have participated directly in his acts but they continue to blame others for consequences that occur because of them. If it is dishonorable to be tossed into the sea if you are Muslim then they could warn others not to do as OBL to avoid bringing on such consequences. Instead, it’s the United States fault for dumping him and Saudi Arabia’s for not wanting the aggravation of having his grave turned into a shrine for other misguided people.

  9. jeansasson says:

    Well, Pandora, everyone has their right to have an opinion about this and I certainly understand that there are a range of emotions, and for good reasons. It’s so personal for the family and such an emotional issue that I can understand that they are not really thinking about this in a broad way… So, I don’t judge anyone for their reactions, not the families of victims, nor the family of Osama. It’s just a lose-lose situation anyway one wants to look at it. All so very heartbreaking… But, many people feel as you do and I understand that, too… Thanks much for writing in…. Jean

Leave a Reply

