OSAMA BIN LADEN’S FAVORITE WIFE AND FAVORITE SON

OSAMA BIN LADEN’S FAVORITE WIFE AND FAVORITE SON

Don’t be fooled by the talk that Yemeni wife Amal was Osama’s favorite wife.  I’ve got several reasons to think that is not true, although I’m sure he had affection for her loyalty in staying with him through the final days.

I’ve been reading many current articles on the Osama Bin Laden drama.  It’s impossible not to compare what I’m reading to what was revealed to me by Omar and Najwa Bin Laden when I was gathering their memories to write their personal accounts of living with Osama (in GROWING UP BIN LADEN). (Omar was Osama’s favorite son who courageously ignored his father’s call for violence, while Najwa held three coveted positions in a Muslim marriage: the first wife, a first cousin, and the mother of his first son, Abdullah).  Note to those journalists who are writing that his Yemeni wife was his favorite:  Don’t assume that because Amal was the wife with him in Pakistan that she was the favorite.  Believe me when I say that he would have preferred Najwa by his side.  There was an intense life-long bond between Najwa and Osama.  They had known and loved each other since infancy. They spent many summers affectionately playing together in Syria when Osama’s mother Allia took her family to visit Najwa’s family (Najwa’s father was Allia’s brother).

Najwa first left Osama in 1999 when it was time to deliver her 11th and final child with Osama. Omar, seriously worried about his mother’s health and safety, had defied his father, campaigning diligently to obtain his father’s permission for his mother to go to Syria, to be with her own mother when she delivered her child.  Osama had reluctantly agreed.  When Najwa settled in the black SUV that was going to take her from Afghanistan to Pakistan and from there to Syria, Osama walked to her and said, “Najwa, no matter what you might be told, I will never divorce you.”  Then, he said, “As soon as you can travel, return with the baby.”

Their marriage was a love marriage, while his other marriages were arranged, without Osama even seeing the selected brides prior to the marriage.  There is no doubt that Najwa was his rock (when it came to wives and marriages).  When there are multiple wives in Muslim marriages, generally the husband sees each wife every four days.  Najwa told me during the process of writing her life story that she saw Osama every day, that he came by to be with her each day of their marriage (when he was not traveling) to check on her and the children and to learn anything he might need to know about his domestic life.  As someone who lived in Saudi Arabia for 12 years, and was privy to information about marriages including more than one wife, this is quite unusual.

Najwa did as her husband asked, returning to Afghanistan in 2000 with her two young daughters, the last children she would have with Osama.  This, despite Omar’s pleas for her to never return to Afghanistan and to the rugged life she was living.  In the spring of 2001, Omar once again returned to Afghanistan after Osama’s mother Allia told him that his father had ordered him to return.  Omar did not disobey his father’s command, besides, he felt a need to see his father and to plead with him one final time, to give up the violence and to return to a normal life.  But it was too late for that.  Omar revealed that his father was so disappointed that Omar had walked away from life with his father Osama, that he was unusually cool towards his favorite son.  (Several years before, Osama had revealed to Omar that he was the chosen son.  Osama was startled and hurt when Omar confessed that he could never follow in his militant footsteps, that he could never head Al-Qaeda, an organization he disliked, an organization whose violent creed he strongly disagreed with.  Due to Osama’s disappointment in his favored son, Omar failed to have the long meeting he wanted with his father.  Omar also noted that his father was busy meeting with men Omar had never seen before.  Quite obviously Osama was already in the busy stages of plotting with his fighters regarding 9/11, and other militant attacks.  The father and his son only exchanged a few words.  But Omar did visit extensively with his mother, once again pleading with her to leave Afghanistan, to take as many of the children as she could, that something bad was coming.  (Omar had been warned by a good friend that he should leave, that he had never committed any violence, and that he should not get caught up with what was coming.  Omar did not want to leave his mother and younger siblings behind.)

Each day he was in Afghanistan, Omar discussed their departure with his mother.  Najwa said nothing, neither yes, neither no.  Omar finally had no option, leaving Afghanistan for the last time, fearing he would never see any family members again.  As the hot summer passed, Najwa slowly changed her mind.  Then one day out of the blue she told her husband, “Osma, can I go to Syria?”  Osama did not move.  He stared at Najwa.  He said, “Do you want to go , Najwa?”  Najwa responded:  “Yes, my husband. I want to go to Syria, to my mother’s house.”  Osama, giving her every opportunity to change her mind, asked again, “Are you sure you want to go, Najwa?”  Najwa replied, “I want to go to Syria.”

Tragically, Osama would not allow Najwa to take two of her young children with her:  daughter Iman and son Ladin.  They were Osama’s insurance, knowing that Najwa would not be able to leave her children for long.  (Osama’s reaction was very different when his second wife Khadijah left him in Sudan.  Osama allowed Khadijah to take all three children with her back to Saudi Arabia.  Osama only saw their son, Ali, once, when Ali returned for a short visit with his father and half-siblings.) Clearly, Osama was not trying to keep any of Khadijah’s children as hostages.  Obviously, he did not mind if Khadijah never returned.  He did care deeply about Najwa, using two of their eleven children as hostages to tempt her to return.

Once again, Osama came back to Najwa a number of times prior to her departure from Afghanistan, each time telling her, “I will never divorce you, Najwa.  Even if you hear I have divorced you, it is not true.”

It appears that Osama stuck with that promise.  News is coming out of Pakistan that Osama lived in the villa in Pakistan with three wives.  Had he wanted a 4th wife, he would have divorced Najwa, to make room for that 4th position (In Islam, believers are allowed 4 wives at one time).

We know from reports that one of his wives in attendance was Amal, his young Yemeni wife.  Who were the other two?  I have a personal opinion on this and will post it in another blog, later today or tomorrow.

The rest is history, of course, 9/11 occurred and Najwa was unable to return to  Osama or to her children left behind.  It took nine years before Najwa would see her precious children again.

When Osama died, he was still married to four women, one of the four being his first cousin Najwa, who was his first wife and the mother of his first son.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Osama Bin Laden and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to OSAMA BIN LADEN’S FAVORITE WIFE AND FAVORITE SON

  1. Sandy VanWiggeren says:

    Dear Jean,
    Thank you for posting this information. I learned so much from your book “Growing Up Bin Laden” and now you are adding even more. If people are to understand what is really happening in that part of the world, they need to read this book and your others. You are able to get across what is really happening inside the real people and teach your readers about that culture. With all that is happening in the world now, your work is all the more important. Thank you.
    Sandy VanWiggeren

    • jeansasson says:

      Thank you, Sandy… Your very kind words are appreciated. I’ve always thought the stories of these very courageous people I write about are important for the world to know. Maybe everyone will soon agree with us — we must create understanding. Talk later, Jean

  2. Carmen Santana says:

    Hi Jean. I just finished the book, and I need to know more of the last missing details. As you, I’m also wondering who are the 2 other wives that are being mentioned on some reports. I can believe that Siham could be one of them, since according to your book, she went to Pakistan in 2001 and Khalid was killed at the compound, but who is the other one if in fact he was with 3 wives on his last day?. If as you very well said, he would not divorce Najwa, maybe he divorced Khairiah and married again after 2001. They also mentioned that there were 8 bin Laden kids at the compound on monday. If in fact 4 were Siham’s, one was Amal’s, who are the other 3? I read somewhere that Amal had 2 sons after Safiyah. I’m all confused and can’t wait to hear real facts about this last events. I’d like to know how is Omar doing now, and how they all reacted after learning about OBL’s passing. Did they found Sa’ad? Thanks for a reply, maybe you should get ready to start a second book.

    • jeansasson says:

      I came to the same conclusion as you did, Carmen. I feel certain that the three wives with him are the Yemeni wife (of course) and two Saudi wives. One is Siham, mother of Khalid. (She had other children, too, as you know.) And, I feel that the other wife is probably Hamza’s mother and if not her, then Osama must have taken another wife from a Pakistani village after 9/11… It’s a real puzzle and I’ll be looking forward to hearing more soon. I would love to interview those three wives, but you can bet that is not going to happen! I think they will be kept by the Pakistani government for a while – While the Yemeni government might take back Amal and her children, I don’t think the Saudi government will agree to the return of the other two wives IF both are Saudi, as I feel they must be….

      • Carmen says:

        Well, I just read on CNN that the 3 wives are Amal, Khairiah and Siham. I agree with you that it would be excellent if you could interview at least one of them, willing to talk of course, because it should be very interesting to know how Khairiah went from Iran to Pakistan! It’s indeed a puzzle! And also, who are all the children…I’m waiting for that detail as well.

  3. Dear Jean,

    I am about half way through your book “Growing Up Bin Laden” which I began reading just the other day and cannot put it down. I will write you at length when I am finished as my emotions are reeling and I have so many thoughts regarding this great work that you have done to share Omar and Najwa’s story. This is so vital and necessary, and this is exactly the kind of insight that our country needs- that society needs in order to reach understanding. We all know the political travesty- the great cost and consequence to both Eastern and Western peoples. We know of the crimes and the sensationalism that surrounds every act. What we need is to understand the root and the heart of the matter. I am profoundly moved by your book- and so much in awe and respect to the tremendous courage of Omar and Najwa for sharing their personal experiences with such sensitivity.

    What I wish to know in response to recent headlines- is if you have been in touch with Omar and Najwa since the assassination of Osama? I feel for them both and the myriad of emotions they must be experiencing and processing. Please, if you are in contact with them, relay my condolences- not to the loss of the terrorist, but to their loss of a father and husband…the loss of another human being. I cannot fathom the countless ways they must be effected both inwardly, as well as outwardly as they face the world who often does not take into account their personal suffering.

    Please…continue your good work of sharing these personal accounts with the care and dignity that you have placed into this book, which I feel should be required reading of our nation.

    Sincerely,

    Leila A. Fortier

    • jeansasson says:

      Thank you, Leila… I just re-read your note and I agree with you. The facts told to me by Najwa and Omar, which I then wrote in the book GUBL, are the only facts told by the family. I’ve been told that it has already become a historical document and that no time in the future can anyone else write a book about Osama without referring to Najwa’s and Omar’s personal stories about their husband and father. I’m so glad that I was a part of this very important project, despite the criticism I have received. The truth is important and no one knows the truth like Omar and Najwa. NO ONE!

  4. jeansasson says:

    Hi! This is Jean… Sorry I’ve been delayed as I generally respond quickly but there is so much going on this week that I am skipping baths and meals! Not normal for me! Yes, I have spoken with Omar and with his wife. I spoke with them at length on Sunday night after word was received. At first they were all a bit numb as the information that Osama did not put up resistance (as everyone always assumed he would do) but after learning that he was executed, they became very upset. They were of the opinion that he should have been arrested and taken to trial. They always thought of America as a country who would not execute anyone without a trial. I don’t think they realized the depth of hurt and anger in the western world, or of the anguish suffered by the families who lost loved ones, over 9/11. It is a fine line for them as they are so close to the situation. I know that I never let myself forget the innocent people who have died due to terror. My heart will always go out to those innocents who lost their lives and the families of the victims. As far as Osama, I do understand why so many people are saying that he should have been arrested. We are a land of laws. At the same time, I understand how divisive a trial would have been — who knows how many other innocent people would have been killed during the legal process. It’s very complicated, isn’t it? And, I do know that Omar and his family are innocent victims, too. Their father’s activities have cost them so much: a nomal life — goodwill from others — I could go on and on… I thank you all for your kind words and I will respond separately to each of you and answer your questions with pleasure. THANK YOU! Jean

  5. Ali says:

    I read a few months back that Omar and his wife separated, I assume they are back together now? If so, I am glad that he has someone that can be there for him during this difficult time.

  6. jeansasson says:

    Yes, they are back together and seem very happy. Which of course, makes anyone happy who cares about them. You are very kind. Thanks so much! Jean

  7. Dear Jean,

    I’ve read your book several times, and every time I read still find some fascinating detail. Congratulations for your sensitive work, which brought a human dimension to something that was for us just a myth.

    Greetings from Brazil.
    Alexey.

  8. jeansasson says:

    I really appreciate your comments, Alexey… I work hard on the books I write in the hopes that I can bring readers into these fascinating lives. And, I never write a book unless I find something to admire in the person, so that makes it easy for me when writing! Have a lovely day, Jean

  9. trishla says:

    your book growing up bin laden is my favourite book and i must have read it several times..
    trishla
    india

  10. jeansasson says:

    Hi Trishla, Your comment will be passed on to Omar and His family. I know this will make them feel very good. Tell me, so I can tell them, what are your favorite stories of their lives?

    Trishla, I’ve had so many loyal fans write to me to tell me that had read ALL my books, but they were not going to read the GUBL. HOWEVER, somewhere along the line curiosity would take over and they would read the book about Omar and his mother. Nearly every time they would write back to tell me how they loved it, and that it was their favorite, too. I think the book is a hugely important historical document — the only book written with the cooperation of Osama’s family. And, with all the information coming out of the house in Pakistan, their true stories lets people know that what the family told me is totally true. Did anyone find any dialysis machines in the house? OR, even medication for a kidney disease. NO! No one believed the book when Omar and his mother said that Osama was healthy and had never been on dialysis. They did confirm that he had kidney stones twice in his life. Everyone wanted to believe he was left handed because of the way he held his gun in photographs. Omar and Najwa said that he was right handed, NOT left handed. I believed them, but no one else did. (There was not reason for them to say that if it was not true.) Interestingly enough, while watching TV I saw that Osama was using his RIGHT HAND ONLY. A left handed person would have been flipping the tv controls with his left hand. The list goes on and on. Although I never doubted one word told to me by the family, others were not convinced. But, the proof is not available for anyone to see from all the information gotten by the Seal team from the villa in Pakistan. All of that information is so very valuable.
    ANYHOW: Didn’t mean to go on and on and on, but I do thank you for your kind words and I will pass along to Omar. Later, then, Jean

    • Carmen says:

      Jean, as you, I believe this family. I deeply admire the way that they accepted their lives up to the moment of the final separation in 2001. I even think that Najwa felt guilty for a while for having abandoned her husband. I understand that in their culture things are the way they are, and even if we do not agree, we understand it and respected (by the way, this I think was the main Osama problem, he never understood nor respected the other people way of life). Anyway, Jean, the more I read, the more I see all the facts that we are missing. The incorrect details about all the relatives, and I beg you to try at some point to try to get the real story about all that happened after 9/11/01. Even if that takes years, a second book is necessary. Amal is a good candidate to talk, but a book like “Growing up bin Laden”, that switches between Najwa testimony and Omar’s, offers an excellent format if you could get the las 3 wives stories. Please, please, try as hard as you can to make this highly expected second part a reality someday.Thanks!

      • jeansasson says:

        Hi Carmen! All your ideas are good ones, but I doubt I will ever be able to tell the stories of the other wives. I don’t believe that anyone but Najwa and Omar will be so brave as to tell the truth of their lives. Thanks, again… Jean

    • trishla says:

      i just cant name any particular incident which touched me as all of them were touching but i really love the part when omar and osama bond in afghanistan

      • jeansasson says:

        Yes, that was such an important part of Omar’s life. And, he can to understand so much. He was coming of a certain age and began to realize exactly what all was going on. Yet, he had that longing for his father’s attention and affection. It was sweet and sad all at the same time. The more I have come to know Omar, the more I respect and admire him. He is an unusual person and extremely brave for his culture, a culture that rarely if ever sees a son disagreeing with his father.

  11. Pingback: Jean Sasson: Osama Bin Laden’s Favorite Wife And Favorite Son « Future Husbands And Wives Of Saudis (FHWS)

  12. sara hunt says:

    Jean, I am in the middle of Growing up Bin Laden and I have not been able to put it down since I picked it up. I find myself swollowed into this story, as if it is fiction. I see Osama as a character and have to pinch myself into relizing he was a real man with real children with real wives, he is not a mear character. I am learning so much and find myself very happy to be an American woman with free thoughts and ideas. I also find myself lucky to not be a son of Bin Laden. My heart goes out to Omar and Najwa. As much as I understand the complixities of Omar and Najwa’s love and hate for their father/husband, it saddens me deeply and while reading this book, I feel their confusion with them. I welcome the moment I can put the book down and feel the release of not being them. Unfortunatly this book is hard to put down as it is written so beautifully. I think my favorite story is hearing the love of animals from Omar. I have often thought a person who loves animals has peace in their heart as I believe Omar has. I was wondering what, if any, was the reaction from Osama after this book was published? Thanks again for writing this book and I will continue to look for updates. I hope you can pass onto Omar and his mother how incredably brave I feel they are and thank them for their honesty. Thanks, Sara in Florida

    • jeansasson says:

      Dear Sara, Thanks for your note and sorry it took me so long to reply. It’s been really overwhelming as I’m sure you can understand. I, too, love the way that Omar loves and protects animals. Omar is very unusual in that respect. I have not met many Arabs who were quick to take up for animals, who are terribly mistreated in many parts of the Arab world. There was no reaction from Osama about the book, although I would surely like to know if he had any notes or writings about it in the home in Pakistan. Since he kept up with what was going on in the world, I am sure he must had known about the book. My feeling is that he would not have been disappointed or angry with Omar, who was always a free spirit and outspoken, but that he would have been shocked that Najwa participated, even though she said nothing but good things about her husband and never once criticized him to me in all those months of the interviews…. It will be interesting to see if anything is discovered. I’m sure we’ll hear about it as SOME point in the future!

  13. Mary says:

    Jean, I was also in the middle of reading the book when the news came through that OBL had been found and killed. I am very glad that I had started to read the book and had an insight into the lives of the BL family. He abused their love and trust.
    I thought of the family immediatly upon hearing the news, and felt their pain😦 I have spoken to other people who have not read the book and they are also empathic of the family’s suffering.

    I’m very saddened to hear that Najwa’s mother died shortly after the news came through.

    I have recommeded the book to many friends. I was staggered to find that I could explain in detail about how BL lived to my friends (who were equally staggered), and that actually it was no surprise that he probably did make that treck over the mountains into Pakistan on foot exactly as planned…

    • jeansasson says:

      HI Mary, During the entire time of interviewing and writing, I remained shocked by Najwa and Omar’s revelations. Their stories were amazing to me then, and are still amazing to me. Yet when Osama was killed, and details were given about the home, I saw that Osama was still living with his wives and children much in the same way he had lived with Najwa and her children. There were a few differences because Osama was basically living in purdah WITH his wives, whereas when he lived with Najwa and her children, he was traveling a lot and very free. Really, their stories are so important to the knowledge surrounding Osama.

  14. trishla says:

    i may also like to offer condoloscenes to omar and his family for their loss

  15. jeansasson says:

    Thank you, Trishla. I’m going to ask Omar to come and read all these responses for himself. I think he will be surprised at the number of people who understand his feelings…. Thanks you, again…

  16. shelley says:

    hi jean!loved your book…I cried after reading the whole story…I can’t wait for the next chapter of the book if ever there’s one.

    Anyway,please extend my condolence to omar and najwa…and the entire bin ladens….I hope najwa is ok so does omar…yup!I agree with you that najwa is osama’s fave wife…to me najwa is such a very amazing person…

    Hope you’ll right a continuation of GUBL!

  17. Carmen says:

    Hi Jean. First of all, I’d like to know if Najwa and her family is safe. I read a lot about the situation in Syria and is heart braking what is going on there, and the indifference of the world is shameful. There are so many unanswered questions, like: who was at the compound on may 2nd? who died there? was Hamza there? Who is the daughter killed in North Waziristan (if that is true)? Safia has more siblings from her mother’s side? (by the way, Safia could be willing to tell her story someday, I think). Who is still in Iran from the Bin Laden clan? How is Najwa coping with her husband’s and her mother’s deaths? How is Omar doing?

    I would not worry about the tabloids poorly written notes. The lack of more info makes them grasp anything and do anything to get some attention. I have read lots and lots of wrong data, and I marvel at the level of misinformation that there is out there. Amazing. I for one trust your info. I know that without the cooperation of key players is very hard to know the real truth, but I have the feeling that you will be able to know a lot of the real facts that we are waiting for.

    Thanks a lot for not giving up!

  18. jeansasson says:

    Hi Carmen, Thanks for all your kind comments. I only send good feelings to this very special family. Thanks so much for caring about them. Warm regards, Jean

  19. Carmen says:

    Dear Jean,
    Do you know what happened to Najwa’s children, Iman and Ladin? Thank you.

  20. shamela says:

    Hello Jean , I read you book on Osama Bin Ladin and what an intrigued story. My opinion is always not to hear only one side of a story. Now I can try to understand the reasons and the action taken by Osama Bin Ladin. I have been travelling to few of the places mentioned where the Bin Laden families lived eg Azzizia, Jeddah,Madina,Mecca and can now relate and just imagine what the Bin Laden children miss out on. As for Omar I wish him all the sucess in the peace campaign. Najwa and the rest of her siblings may Almighty Allah bless you for being the mother, the wife, the teacher, the doctor, the pillar in the house.Jean thank you for bringing the truth to the fore. Well Done.Please I need to know if the siblings has been found.

    • jeansasson says:

      I’m so glad that you read this book and came to know the son & wife of Osama, and understand how very fine they both are.

      Yes, the siblings have been found other than Saad, of which nothing much is known…

      Thank you, again… Jean

    • jeansasson says:

      Thank you for this note Shamela.. Sorry for the delay but sometimes the comments don’t show up for me! Thank you for your kind words for Omar. He is a very special man and I respect him very much. Yes, the siblings have been found and most are with the family.

  21. Enrique Campos says:

    Hi Jean, I read two years ago your book “Growing Up Bin Laden” it is a great job you did, I seemed incredible to me the description of the bathrooms in Kandahar, and I imagine the smell, excellent book, unfortunately I read too fast, I could not stop until I finished, I would like to see a photo of Najwa.
    I congratulate you for your work.

    • jeansasson says:

      Thank you, Enrique. I’m so glad you read the book and that it meant a lot to you. I have to say that it was an adventure writing the book — I grew to highly respect and admire both my heroine, Najwa, and my hero, Omar, in the book.

      As you know from reading the book, Najwa is a very conservative Muslim woman and she has never given permission for her image to be displayed publicly in any way. Of course, we all must respect her wishes.

      Thank you again. If you read any other of my books, Let me know. Many thanks, Jean

      • Enrique Campos says:

        Dear Jean.
        I feel very sorry for not having a photo of Najwa, anyway I thank you for your quick response.
        I’ll see if I can find another book that you’ve written to enjoy it.

      • jeansasson says:

        I hope you do, Enrique! Let me know what else you read!

  22. Faataitai Tupua says:

    Dear Miss Jean
    I haven’t read your book yet but your article and it’s very interesting. Sounds like all the above readers liked it. I am going to buy it, read it and give my opinion. But like all of your readers above, I want to express my sadness and condolences to Najwa and Omar. I watched his interview when his father was killed. I myself shed a lot of tears. As Omar said, “he was their father” no matter they hated what he did. What saddened me the most, was the way Mr Osama was buried. He was dead already, so why didn’t America give the body to his family, or even try to contact any of them? Yes, he killed a lot of innocent people. I still feel sad for the victims and their families, I too still feel sad for Osama’s families as well. I still don’t agree for him to be killed. He should have been arrested. He was a terrorist, that didn’t make all his children terrorists. I’m going to read your book and I wish you all the best. Same goes to Najwa and Omar. God bless.

    From New Zealand🙂

    • jeansasson says:

      I’m so glad to hear from you Faataitai, and I’m looking forward to reading your comments once you read the book. You are right that Omar and his mother are very special people and they are innocent of everything. Of course Omar loved his father. That’s a natural force in life…. I wish you the very best, too, an I look forward to hearing from you again.

  23. Jill Raby says:

    Hello Jean, I am Australian.
    I have just read your book “Growing Up Bin Laden”. The Life of Najwa, Omar and the rest of the wife’s and children was horrendous. I sensed a deep love between Najwa and Osama and utter confusion for poor Omar. I sincerely wish them every ounce of love, stability, faith and peace. Thankyou for enlightening us all.

    • jeansasson says:

      I’m so pleased that you read the book, Jill. I found Omar and Najwa to be particularly lovely people. It’s a nice family and too bad that so many people don’t take the time to read their story and come to know them. They are innocent, good people. It was quite an experience writing the book, but I certainly do not regret it. Omar, his wife Zaina, and Najwa, all worked very hard to provide me with the information and it was not that easy for them to go back in time and bring back their memories. I admire them very much and so glad that you do, too.

  24. lisa says:

    This is very intresting thank you

  25. izraul says:

    Bin Laden died on Dec 13, 2001, from Marfan disease. His funeral was on 10 days later, and on the 26th guns were shot into the air all over the middle east. Of course people are going to believe whatever story they like best. It’s amazing how much news is held from the public here in America. Maybe more people would have known that 9 of the 9/11 hijackers were still alive after 9/11. The FBI made a statement on this. “It must have been a case of identity theft” … lol, yeah… I’m sure that’s what it was.

    Once the C.I.A.’s favorite “Freedom Fighter” known as Usama Bin Laden, was in fact exactly just that. Freedom Fighters, or people who fight for freedom, are very easily identifiable. They are usually the ones doing the defending, from what is called, the attackers, or those who do the attacking. Defenders, Attackers. Defending, Attacking. Freedom Fighters, Terrorists. Terrorists are most likely the ones who attack others in their own homes, on their own land. Only real Terrorists could or ever would attack others, and then call them, the Terrorists. If someone attacks you in your own home, should you defend and fight back? Would that make you be a terrorist?

    I feel sorry for those who can’t seem to figure out the difference… Until it concerns them of course. Then its a different..

    • jeansasson says:

      Hi Izraul, What country are you living in?

      As far as Osama Bin Laden, I know that his son/wife and other family members would have known if he died from disease in 2001. Some of the family was still with him and I feel there was innocent communication between those family members.

      Anyhow, of course, anyone can have their opinion. But, I would like to know where you are writing from. For now, have a nice day.

    • jeansasson says:

      Oh, I see that your e-mail came from California. Are you an American, by chance?

Leave a Reply

