Steven Jobs’ wisdom regarding work.

Few people come along in our world who can compare with Steven Jobs.  He will be sorely missed.

It was clear that the man loved his work.   Here’s what Steven Jobs once said about work when giving a speech at Stanford in 2005:

 “Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.  If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on.”

Because Steven Jobs loved his work, the entire world is now enjoying the fruits of his labor.

Thinking about his statement about loving work, I readily admit that the most contented people I’ve ever known are those who love what they are doing.  This can be a person with a big career, or it can be the really important work, which is a mother staying home to raise children. (I remember well how my mother loved being with her children.  She was smiling and happy when standing over a hot stove in the kitchen, cooking special dishes for her children.   She was a wonderful mother and her passion for taking care of her children was evident.)

Whatever your life’s work is, I hope that you have a passion for it, whether you on a career path, or whether you are taking care of your children.

I’m lucky that I truly love what I do.  From the first moment I start on a book project, I feel the excitement building.  After deciding on a specific book project, I begin my research and interviewing.  Since I’m a people person and I an avid reader, the interviewing and researching is pure joy.  After the interviewing gets underway, I start writing.  While some days go better than others, I don’t stop until I get five pages a day.  Despite the fact that I work 12 to 14 hours a day when writing a book, it does not seem like work.  The day flies quickly.  I don’t even know that there is a world outside my window.  Sometimes Jack will become concerned because I don’t come out for lunch.  He will pass through and kindly remind me that I’ve been writing for 5 or 6 hours without a break and remind me that I should stretch my legs and eat a bite of something.

Then the great day comes when the book is finished and goes to the editor at the publishing house.  Then the best day is when the book hits the bookstore shelves.  Nothing can match that moment of sheer joy.  My heroines/heroes are excited and I am excited for them.  So you see, I truly do love my work.  My wish is that all who are reading this, love their work, too.

As Steven Jobs said, “If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on.”

Amen!  May the great Steven Jobs rest in peace.  He accomplished more in 56 years than most of us could accomplish if we had the gift of life for 200 years.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Great Men and Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steven Jobs’ wisdom regarding work.

  1. Greater words were never spoken and Steve Jobs lived his life authentically by following his passion. He is quite the inspiration, isn’t he? If only I could find how to harness my passion, I might accomplish 2% of what he did! So nice to hear how you love your writing!

  2. jeansasson says:

    Hi Vicky! I felt very sad from the time I saw Steven Jobs make his last public appearance. I, like many others, felt that he resigned from Apple because he knew that he was on the last few months of his life journey. Yet tonight when the news of his death broke, tears rolled. I’m not someone who weeps often, but someone his passing really touched me. Although every life is precious, he did so much with his time, changing our world for the good. Due to their enormous contributions, there are some people that we need to keep around as long as possible. I would put Steven Jobs in that category. I read some of your blog and joined… You have a lot of thoughful postings. I will enjoy your blog, I know. Yes, I do enjoy writing, mainly because I so like the people I write about, courageous people who push hard for what they think is right. For now, have a lovely week. J.

  3. jeansasson says:

    Sorry, moving too fast late at night. Meant to say: “I’m not someone who weeps often, but SOMEHOW his passing really touched me.”

Leave a Reply

