AMERICAN CHICK IN SAUDI ARABIA – #1 bestseller on Barnes and Noble NOOK E-book.

Much to my surprise and joy, AMERICAN CHICK IN SAUDI ARABIA hit the #1 slot on the Barnes & Noble BIOGRAPHY bestseller list, and, on the second day it was released.  I’m thrilled, to say the least.

It all began with an ad in the newspaper. I was living in Jacksonville Beach, Florida and was enrolled in court reporting school.  It didn’t take me long to realize that I didn’t have what it takes to find joy in a career in the American court system.  That’s when I started checking out newspaper ads for a job, something to “tide me over” until I could make up my mind what I wanted to do, and where I wanted to go, next.  My eyes landed on an ad for a administrative position in Medical Affairs at a royal hospital in Saudi Arabia.  Suddenly I was intrigued, even excited.  I was always an avid reader and had vast curiosity about the rest of the world, so I applied for the job, and just like that, within six weeks I was on my way to an exotic kingdom in the middle of a desert, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.  I signed up for a two-year contract but ending staying for 12 years.  That’s because I truly enjoyed the many adventures of living and working in Saudi Arabia.

I only had two problems living in the kingdom:  First of all, I was appalled by the status of women, all still veiled at the time, and most without any rights to make personal choices.  Secondly, I was horrified by the cruelty and neglect of animals, including abandoned dogs, stray cats, caged and neglected birds, mistreated camels, and on and on.  I don’t have the sort of personality that will ignore the mistreatment of human beings or of animals.  As all my friends can testify, I was embroiled in frequent misadventures!
Yet the Saudi people were some of the nicest people I have met, and most, if not all, extended a welcoming hand.  In those early days, Saudis were happy to have foreigners coming to live in their country.  And, it didn’t hurt that I was working for Dr. Nizar Feteih, the Saudi head of the hospital, the cardiologist for King Khalid, and a man closely connected with the royal family.
Only later, after the first Gulf War did they withdraw the welcome mat.  Now I hear that it is nearly impossible for foreigners to meet up with and become friends with Saudis.  What a pity!
But for me, living in Saudi Arabia turned into a life-changing adventure.
This first in my book series tells how I am plunged into the hidden lives of the veiled women in Riyadh, where women are locked in luxurious homes and fundamentalist mutawas terrorize the streets. I was lucky to meet women from all walks of life–a feisty bedouin, an educated mother, and a conservative wife of a high-ranking Saudi–all who opened a window into Saudi culture and helped to reshape my worldview.
I hope that you agree that after spending many years living and working and traveling the world, and after writing books about many brave heroines and one brave hero, the time has finally come for me to write about my personal adventures.
My CHICK series will focus on my life and adventures while in Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Kuwait, Iraq, Thailand, and the Philippines.  My series of books will not focus on me only, but will reveal personal stories about some very compelling people I have met along my life’s path.

CHICK is now available as an e-book on Barnes & Noble NOOK.  Next month it will be available on AMAZON and can be downloaded on KINDLE or on your PC desktop, etc. I do so hope you get to read it.

After I finish writing my personal story, it will be released in printed book form.
Here’s some additional information about my other books and about CHICK:
PRAISE FOR JEAN SASSON’S BOOKS:
“Fascinating…an intimate account of a family life that became steadily more dangerous and bizarre…in forced pursuit of Osama’s jihadist dreams.” –Washington Post
“The startling truth behind veiled lives…frank and vivid” Sunday Express
“Anyone with the slightest interest in human rights will find this book heart-wrenching.” –Betty Mahmoody, bestselling author of NOT WITHOUT MY DAUGHTER
“A fascinating narrative…devasting” Robert Harris, Sunday Times
“Absolutely riveting and profoundly sad…” –People
“A chilling story…a vivid account of an air-conditioned nightmare…” –Entertainment Weekly
“Must-reading for anyone interested in human rights.” –USA Today
“Shocking…candid…sad, sobering, and compassionate…” –San Francisco Chronicle
ABOUT JEAN SASSON:
Jean’s first book THE RAPE OF KUWAIT, based on her eye witness reporting on the invasion of Kuwait by Iraqi troops, was an immediate bestseller. Shortly thereafter she became a full-time writer. Her next three books, PRINCESS, PRINCESS SULTANA’S DAUGHTERS, and PRINCESS SULTANA’S CIRCLE, became international sensations as they were the first books to bring to the western world the shocking stories about life for women in Saudi Arabia. Jean is also the author of MAYADA, DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, about the prison experiences of an Iraqi journalist praised by Saddam Hussein; LOVE IN A TORN LAND: The True Story of a Freedom Fighter’s Escape from Iraqi Vengeance which tells the story of a beautiful Kurdish woman; GROWING UP BIN LADEN: Osama’s Wife and Son Take Us into Their Secret World; and FOR THE LOVE OF A SON: One Afghan Woman’s Quest for Her Stolen Child. Her work has been featured in People, Vanity Fair,The New York Times, The Washington Post, The New Yorker, The New York Post, The Sunday London Times, The Guardian, CNN, FOX, NBC, and many other news organizations.
I’m still traveling the world, although I have made my homebase in Atlanta, Georgia.
I’m still a passionate animal rights and women’s rights supporter.
If you have time, check out my website at www.jeansasson.com

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Jean Sasson's new book, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to AMERICAN CHICK IN SAUDI ARABIA – #1 bestseller on Barnes and Noble NOOK E-book.

  1. Sarah says:

    Do you know when this book will be available for Kindle? I can’t wait to read it!!!

    • jeansasson says:

      Hi Sarah! It was on AMAZON for KINDLE for one day but there were some mistakes with the formatting of the book so now it has been taken off. I will come back next week. Also, please do remember that this is only an installment of my memoir, so you’ll only get to read 3 or 4 chapters…. If you’ll write me back next week, I can give you an exact day, okay?

      Have a good evening, Jean

    • jeansasson says:

      Sarah, the book has been available on KINDLE for some time, now. I hope you got it and read it! Jean

  2. anne says:

    Dear Miss Sasson,

    I am a great fan of your books. They display honesty and respect for the people you write about. I too can not wait for your new book to come out, where do you have the energy..I wonder???Will you and Princess Sultana write another book?? I do hope that Princess Sultana and her family are all in good health and doing fine. Most people say when a person is “out spoken” we are labeled as “trouble makers” ..my belief is..we are honest and speak the truth..where other people are afraid to speak their minds. You and Princess Sultana …have my total respect.

    Thank You for your time,

    Anne

    • jeansasson says:

      Dear Anne, Thank you for your note. Actually, I was born lucky in that I’ve always had high energy and also, best of all, I have been extremely healthy for my entire life. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve been ill. There is not greater blessing as I know that so many people struggle with health issues and that is totally consuming. Thus far, I have been blessed on this point…

      Yes, Princess Sultana is a very honest person and not only that, is willing to step up and fight for other women. Sadly, there are many women who care only for themselves and never ever try to help anyone else. We could be such a powerful force if all women came together to help all. I’ve noticed that so many times, women are the weak link in women’s rights. No one can say that about Princess Sultana!

      Yes, we will do another book but the exact timing has not been decided. I would like to wait for a few good changes that I believe is coming for Saudi women so we can write about some good things. The princess feels that time is now because so few things have changed.

      Thank you for taking the time to write — it’s greatly appreciated! Jean

  3. Pingback: American Chick In Saudi Arabia: An Interview With The Illustrious Jean Sasson « Future Husbands And Wives Of Saudis (FHWS)

  4. catrina zanata says:

    I love this book! It’s a journey to a place most Americans never see… a place so different, it’s difficult to imagine. I commend your courage and independence, and thank you for telling the world your story.

  5. Hello megha this side I found you here as well. American chick in Saudi is what I am gonna read next🙂

Leave a Reply

