To Selena, With Love by Chris Perez

I’ve just read a book that left me so very sad and at the same time, thoughtful.  The book is:  To Selena, With Love by Chris Perez, her loving husband at the time of her murder.  This book set me to thinking about a lot of things.  I’ll discuss those thoughts later, but for now, I’d like to tell you a little about Selena, a true force of nature, a woman who seemingly had it all, a beautiful woman who honestly cared about others, doing one good deed after another, a woman who so adored animals that she treated them like children, a woman so talented and energetic that nothing was going to stop her.  That is, nothing but another woman, a jealous, evil woman, a woman whose name I refuse to say because she thrives on publicity.

I’m sure that most of you have heard of Selena, the powerful singer of a Mexican American father and half-Cherokee Native American mother.  She was named the top Latin artist of the 90’s and the best selling Latin artist of the decade.  This extraordinary woman was murdered by a woman Selena tried to help, time and again, a woman who should have been protecting her.  This happened at the cusp of Selena’s life, when she was only 23 years old, in 1995.  (In 1997, Jennifer Lopez starred in the film about Selena’s life, which propelled Lopez to great stardom.)

Chris Perez and his wife Selena shared a great love.  In the book, Chris has a way of making the readers feel we personally knew this fabulous woman, leaving the reader with the knowledge that when Selena was murdered, the world more than a talented entertainer, the world lost a great person who would have made the world a better place.

I recommend the book for its easy way of introducing the reader to a unique woman and at the same time telling a love story; albeit, a love story cut short.  All through the book the reader wants to reach back in time and change history, warn Selena about the woman she was helping, the woman who would one day take Selena’s life.

This story led me to thinking about the women in my life. I have known and still know some great women.  I was extremely fortunate to have one of the world’s greatest mothers, someone who intensely loved me and who never let me down.  Quite simply, my mother was my best friend from the time I was young, until the day she died in 2003.  As far as female friends, my luck continued.  I’ve enjoyed the most rewarding friendships with very special girls (when I was young) and women (after I grew up), females who were always there for me, as I was for them.  Various faces come to mind when I think of my closest female friends.  There was Alece & Kay & Catherine in elementary and high school.  There was Anita & Miss Barbara & Pat & Frances & Lois & Dee & Dot & Vicki & Judy in my young adult years.  Later there was Eleanor & Maria & Lydia & Margaret & Donna Jean & Lisa & Julie & Alice & Princess Sultana & Mayada & Maryam and others.  All these friendships still endure, other than the three lost to death, and I still mourn them.  Even today, I’m meeting very nice women on Facebook and other social networks, lovely women whom I hope to one day meet in person.  In other words, I’ve enjoyed a lifetime of unique friendships with extraordinary women.

I can truthfully say that women are some of my favorite people!

I so admire most women that I do everything in my power to be there at their time of need, and I do this with an open heart and a smile.  I’ll bet that every woman reading this can identify with what I’m about to say.  While women have been my best friends in the world, I have run across a number of women who targeted me as someone they wanted to grievously harm, and for no good reason.  I’ve had so many good women share the same kind of stories with me, that the people who have done them great harm were often other females.

What is this about?   As women, we should strive to help women at every opportunity.  The world is a dangerous place, and in so many countries women are abused and even murdered, for no reason other than because they are women.   I ask again, what is it about those women that they joyously target other women with the intention to bring great harm?  For those of you who have endured such an experience, I’d love to hear about it.  Is it jealousy?  Is it pure evil?  What is it that makes some females want to seriously harm other females?

I’m hoping to hear from you.

Meanwhile, I hope you read the book about Selena.  It will give you something to think about.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Selena, With Love by Chris Perez

  1. Venus says:

    Hi. I came across your blog while trying to get information about the book on Selena. Well I would have to agree on your opinion on women harming other women. I have been emotionally hurt by someone whom I consider a “best friend”. It was hard to deal at first and like you I wondered how this woman I’m talking about was able to hurt me in a very unexpected way. But most of my other friends conclUded that it’s jealousy that would have driven this person to do such a thing. It’s hard to believe but I guess the only way to get over it is to move on. I am still sad about the wasted friendship that we help build together…but then again, who needs friends that aren’t true and would hurt you??
    Thanks for your blog and I hoping to find this book soon here in Malaysia. No luck so far.

  2. Tiffany says:

    She was a wonderful.talented artist taken too soon from her family and friends and her fans. My middle daughter’s middle name is Selena. I love your books thanks for sharing your talent with the rest of us. Tiffany,NW Ohio..

  3. marigin velacion says:

    i really want to get this book but i am in saudi arabia. Is there a place where i can get it here or order it in the mail? please let me know

Leave a Reply

