Heartbreaking and Heartwarming story: Little Afghan girl who is a Taliban victim.

I’ve been reading so many hateful & false messages going around the internet since the horrific shootings of 20 young American children last week. These messages meanly claim that Americans only care if American children are harmed and don’t care at all if the child is another nationality. How very wrong they are. Over and over again I read accounts of individual Americans reaching out to help children all over the world.

When the Taliban killed a young girl’s father and brother, who stepped in to help? An American nonprofit children’s organization.
Sure, many people from many countries help young children in need, but you can’t discount the fact that Americans are in that group.

Here’s a heartbreaking story where a young girls was saved and enormous effort is being made to help her.

I believe that most people are good, and most people would never harm a child. Of course, the Taliban is not of that group. They seem to take great pleasure in harming and murdering children.

ANYHOW, here is the story:

Six year-old girl shot in face by Taliban and left for dead gets free surgery in US

By Greg Cergol, NBCNewYork.com

A 6-year-old girl — shot and left for dead by the Taliban in Afghanistan earlier this year — received free reconstructive surgery at a hospital in the U.S. Friday.

“She’s OK. All is good, thank God!” said Elissa Montanti of the Global Medical Relief Fund.

The nonprofit children’s organization, based on Staten Island, helped bring Marizeh to the U.S. after the attack that cost the girl her right eye.

Taliban fighters ambushed Marizeh’s family as they drove home in a remote, unidentified region of Afghanistan last spring, said Montanti.

Her father tried to hide the girl under his feet inside the family car but she was shot in the face, after watching both her father and brother murdered.

“They thought she had died. She was there for three hours before she was discovered,” said Marizeh’s doctor, Kaveh Alizadeh.

The plastic surgeon, who founded a nonprofit group that provides medical care to needy children, first heard Marizeh’s story during a trip to Afghanistan.

On Friday, Alizadeh performed surgery on Marizeh at South Nassau Communities hospital on Long Island to help repair lingering damage to her breathing and facial structure. She had previously been fitted with a temporary prosthetic eye.

The medical care should have cost upwards of $100,000, Alizadeh said; but in this case, it was all done for free.

“To think about the trauma she’s been through and to see her come down and have a smile on her face, it’s unbelievable,” said hospital chief operations officer Joseph LaMantia.

Marizeh is expected to leave the Oceanside hospital this weekend and return to the Global Medical Relief Fund’s headquarters in Staten Island.

Thousands rally in Karachi for Malala, 14-year-old Pakistani girl shot by Taliban

It’s unclear when she will go home to Afghanistan. Montanti declined to reveal Marizeh’s last name or hometown, for fear the Taliban will target her again.

“If they know the Americans are helping them, it’s dangerous. So we have to be cautious,” Montanti said.

For all who helped Marizeh, it was a danger worth facing, to restore a little girl’s smile.

“She is a very happy little girl, a lovely girl,” Montanti said.

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Afghan girl in the USA. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Heartbreaking and Heartwarming story: Little Afghan girl who is a Taliban victim.

  1. And yet the majority of you don’t give two hoots when numerous Afghan, Pakistani and Yemeni children are murdered in drone strikes. Whenever that should occur, these children suddenly become “collateral damage”.

    So yes, those people commenting on the interner DO have a point about most (though not all) Americans.

    • Stacey van adder says:

      Awwaaba, I’m sorry you feel that way. I am an American who is getting married to a Pakistani man next spring when I am going there. I will admit that most of us do not know about some of the awful things our government does. My fiancé has been kind enough to enlighten me about the drone strikes & other atrocities committed overseas. As a mother, the first thing I thought of were the children! Do you know our evil president had the nerve to collect a Nobel peace prize while innocent people were being targeted for destruction? He is a rotten man that will burn in the hereafter. Through Facebook, I started talking to some people that I consider dear friends in Yemen & throughout the Muslim world. Again, no one knew anything about the drone strikes there until an American citizen was targeted & killed. To hear of the violence & atrocities committed by my government breaks my heart. I will be truthful with you, America is a large country with many different opinions. However, I cannot imagine what kind of sick, depraved individual would take pleasure in the suffering of innocent people, but like my fiancé says, there are good & bad in every country. I am so sorry that my government would do this. We are all human beings, I believe, and I think we were all born for a reason. We can either make humanity better in our own way or we can add to the endless suffering. As for Afghanistan, I do not know why we are still there. I thought ( who can believe the government, they seem to lie more every year & grow more immoral & corrupt by the second) the purpose was to kill or capture Osama bin laden? Well, that happened some time ago. Why are we still there?! The afghan people do not want us there. The soldiers surely don’t want to be there. It’s been ten years, enough is enough. They have been at war for thirty years? It is time to let them govern themselves the way they see fit. Our government obviously is incapable of figuring out that western democracy doesn’t appeal to everyone. Why they insist on shoving it down everyone’s throat is a mystery ill never know. Since I met my fiancé, he has told me things about my country that saddens me deeply. The way my government plays with other countries for their own ends sickens me. We do not, have any more control of our government than you have of yours, I’m afraid & the things they do in their own interest if we are to know about their actions at all, so much is misrepresented to us by the lying media, most of us have not a clue about the truth anymore. While there are prejudiced Americans, their numbers are few. We are just average people like anybody else. I am a mother to a 15 year old boy, whose father died in 2000. Like you, I worry about my family & money & being a good parent. I certainly do not rejoice in evil. If one child was killed in Yemen & one child was killed in America, the horrible thing is the media would jump all over the story about the American boy, I know. It is wrong. They are equal in the eyes of God.

      • jeansasson says:

        Hi Stacey, After traveling the world for the past 35 years, I am sad to say that I have seen very few governments who are fair and who are forthright about what they are doing — whether the government is the USA, Sudan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, France, and so on… I don’t know what it is about power, but seems as soon as anyone is elected, suddenly the people who elected them are the enemy and the elected powers believe they have the power to do whatever they wish. While I know the drones have taken out a lot of Al-Qaeda, or Taliban, or other violent types, the toll on innocent life has been far too costly. I can understand why any Pakistani or Afghan person would feel very angry about that mode of attack.

        I, too, have many friends in the area, whether Iraqi, Afghan, Palestinian, etc., and commiserate with them over the loss of innocent life. I, too, agree that the time has come for us to get out of Afghanistan. Although I believe the government there is one of the most corrupt and unfeeling about their own citizens (particularly when it comes to women & children) there is really nothing the USA can do to make things better. It’s a waste of time, energy & money and the Afghan people are going to have to sort it out on their own.

        I really don’t know the answer to the world’s problems and I’ve found all I can do is help one person at the time, which I have been doing for most of my adult life.

        I mourn the death of any innocent person, regardless of nationality or of religion…

        I do hope that you have a very good life in Pakistan and I feel that you will be a wonderful ambassador for those who care about others.

        Please stay in touch and let us know what you do when you arrive in Pakistan.

        With very warm regards, Jean Sasson

      • jeansasson says:

        Oh, question: Sorry I feel what way?

      • jeansasson says:

        Sadly, I have found that the majority of governments in the world are arrogant and unfeeling, including my own. However, I have found that ordinary people are good and want to do the right thing for others and for this world of ours. I have found this in the United States, Pakistan, and the rest of the world.

        What happens to a human being once elected to a high office is one of the mysteries of life. Those caring ordinary people turn into tyrants the minute the get into office and have the power to inflict that power over others. I do not know the answer, but I know that nearly EVERY government ends up with corrupt and unfeeling officials…

        That’s why it is grand that ordinary people can reach out to each other and help to create goodwill and understanding.

  2. jeansasson says:

    Dear Ms. Shillingford, While all have the right to their opinion, I have found that most do care about children. Children are precious and innocent all over the world, whether American, Pakistani, Afghan…It’s easy enough to think that all Americans are vile and uncaring beings, but most Americans I know are not supportive of the drone strikes and I’ve heard many people express concern when any innocent civilian is killed. I can’t speak for government officials, of course, but the ordinary American is not in support of civilians being harmed. It’s really difficult to generalize when it comes to over 300 million people. My wish is that there was no war in the world. Hard to believe that we have not advanced further than we have. Anger, ugly words, violence should all be left behind and surely as intelligent beings we should be able to sit down and resolve problems. But that does not seem to be the case. Anyhow, thanks for logging on and commenting as I think calm discussion is the way to solve problems. For now, have a lovely day. Jean

  3. jeansasson says:

    *I have found that most do care about children. Sorry, my cat Paris chose to sit in my lap and demand attention just as I was typing on my blog site. A kat in the lap makes for mistakes! (smile)

  4. ahmedimran@etatns.com says:

    Dear Sasson, it is truely inspiring to read your posts and your care for the victims, be it the rape victims or any other victims who have been subjected to a tremendous of ordeal by way of a domestic abouse or any other victims whose birth right is denied. While, it is very much disheartening to note that some muslims who are brain washed engage in terror activities in the name of religion which is worthy of condemnation and for that matter we condemn their activities, but what we are appalled is the fact that many muslim countries are invaded, raped by the occupying countries which does not elicit any condemnation from the NATO Organisation. Since the bloody occupation of America in iraq 1,000,000 civilians have either lost their life or their relatives or their homes, for which USA should take full liability. Further more, the state called “Israel” with their full military might , unjustly occupying Palestine and denying their citizens any right to live in their own country, blockading the medical aid reaching those poor citizens. Why these attrocities are not checked by the NATO and the World at large is only a bystander. Are these not terrorism…?

  5. jeansasson says:

    Thanks for writing Ahmed… It’s very distressing for me, and for anyone else with a feeling heart for innocents to lose their lives, no matter if they are Iraqi, afghan, American, European, Lebansese, Palestinian, Israeli, and on and on… The harm that human beings inflict upon other human beings is shameful; whether from governments or from person to person. I don’t know the answer and it seems that no one else does… There are many opinions on how many Iraqis that Saddam personally had killed or the Iraqis killed during the 2003 war — I do know that when I visited Iraq in 1998, the populace seemed terrified of their own ruler and were frightened to speak. This does not mean that the USA should have gone in. I was always hoping that the Iraqi people themselves could find a way to get rid of their brutal dictator, and many did try and lost their lives in that cause. Few people will dispute that the 2003 American invasion of Iraq was a mistake and a lot of people paid the price — Iraqis and Americans. I’m glad that US troops are no longer in Iraq and that Iraqis are governing themselves — I hope it works out and that there is no further violence between Sunni/Shiite/Kurd. Iraqis have seen quite enough violence to last a million years! And soon American troops will be out of Afghanistan and that, too, will be a good thing. The Afghan people must find a way to find peace between all the warring tribes and forge a good life for their citizens. Personally, I hate war. There have been times it was necessary to go to war, for instance when Nazi Germany was attacking and invading all of Europe, but certainly Iraq is not in that mix. I do know that there have been many many protests and people speaking out against all wars, but somehow or another, it doesn’t seem to make any difference. Would be wonderful if the time ever came when governments truly cared about THEIR people and would do nothing but good things. I fear we will never live to see that day. Thanks again for writing. While I focus most of my attention on abuse against women & children, it would be a great thing if others could figure out how to end war all over the world.

  6. ahmedimran@etatns.com says:

    It is once again heart warming to receive a response from such a wonderful writer amidst her busy schedule, im grateful for that. Saddam is a dictator and He was removed, but American invasion of iraq has seen bloodshed which would far outweigh in magnitude and attrocities committed by Saddam Hussein in all of his life time in Iraq. When the world at large is condemning Saddam Hussein and his brutal regime as terrorism, whilst it did not do anything to condemn US unjust occupation in Iraq or nor did they dare to speak about the ongoing attrocities by Israel in Palestine. My heart goes out to all the victims and their near and dear ones.

    Nevertheless, i got to read the book “Princess” and i must say it is an amazing book.

  7. jeansasson says:

    Hi again, Ahmed. I don’t feel I can speak on which was worse for the Iraqis — Saddam or the 2003 war and its after affects. I always leave that to the Iraqis, those who lived through the 30 years of brutal dictatorship and years of the afteraffect of a war. I will tell you from my personal discussions with Iraqis that some Iraqs say they would have rather kept Saddam. Others say that any loss was worth getting Saddam out of power. It also varies as to whether the person is Sunni, Shiite or Kurd. Most of the Sunnis I know preferred Saddam. A huge majority of the Shiite I know preferred to get rid of Saddam in any was possible. ALL the Kurds I know are delighted he is gone. And, too, it is according to personal experience. There was a lot of loss with Saddam just as their was a lot of loss with the US/UK invasion. It’s hard to get into another person’s shoes, although frankly, I detest cruel/brutal dictators and I detest war, even if it is a war fought by my country, which I love. I’m an American who loves her country, yet I can acknowledge the mistakes made by my government and wish many things are/were different. I DO KNOW that if Uday or Usay had been in place to assume power when the day came that Saddam would have died a natural death (rather than be overthrown) I believe that Iraq would have been one big pool of blood. While Saddam was tough and could be horribly brutal to those he felt did not support him, he was an angel compared to his son Uday who was completely insane and was downright joyful while torturing and killing Iraqis. HOWEVER, having said this, there was a lot of outrage against America/UK for the 2003 war, so there were protests. As you know, the war was VERY unpopular in the USA. Although I was happy to see Saddam gone–wanting the Iraqis to finally have some peace and say-so in their daily lives, I became increasingly disappointed over the way things turned out. America mishandled the administration of Iraq and Iraqis themselves started seeking revenge against old enemies and started killing one another in horrific ways and numbers.
    SO, I ended changing my mind about that war. Same with Afghanistan. I was hoping that getting rid of the Taliban would be wonderful for the Afghan people, but we have stayed too long and are not really doing anything good for anyone. We should leave tomorrow. The Afghan people must figure out what is the best thing for themselves. Other countries have done it and they can do if too if only they can stop killing each other and setting up a system fair to females. It’s just a sad state of affairs all the way around.
    It’s enough to depress us all…

  8. ahmedimran@etatns.com says:

    Dear Jean, whilst i appreciate your true concern for the innocent who lose their lives, i would like to register my feelings that the world is taking a double standard view, when it comes to the situation of a Muslim. First and foremost, when US invaded Iraq leading the world to believe that Saddam was producing WMD and convinced the world at large and justified their invasion, despite the fact that there is no shred of evidence to prove their claim, occupied Iraq with a false promise that their military presence in the iraq will not be for long, butchered the country and ripped off the country and destabilised the country, dont you think that America must accept responsibility for that and how are they going to repay for all the damages they done in Iraq.? Further more there is barely anyone to stop “Israel” from letting loose their thirst for the blood on poor Palestinian, holding them hostage in their very own home country. Netanyahu Benjamin is no less a terrorist than Saddam Hussein and who is going to remove him from power…..Lastly Afzal Guru, a citizen of India was hanged (in India) two days before for a crime which he did not commit 10 years ago, these are not one off situation in india, where as these are the situations faced by innocent muslims in India and across the globe. By saying this, im not trying to defend those muslims or try to condone them who jump on the train or blow themselves up in the supermarket, with their own intrepretation of jihad killing the civilians. All im saying is that the world should not take a double standard view. Here is the article on Afzal Guru’s hanging http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/feb/10/hanging-afzal-guru-india-democracy.

  9. ahmedimran@etatns.com says:

    Im not holding any grudges against a good soul like you who has a real concern for the innocents and who are actively contributing to the society by voicing their concern.

  10. Pingback: tarot readings

Leave a Reply

