My latest book just published: YASMEENA’S CHOICE: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival

It’s hard to believe that it’s been over twenty years since I met the young woman you will know as Yasmeena in my latest book, YASMEENA’S CHOICE.  There is a long history attached to this book.  I had written THE RAPE OF KUWAIT soon after Iraq invaded Kuwait August 1990, and the book became an instant bestseller.  Seven months later, after Saddam’s forces fled from Kuwait to Iraq, I flew into Kuwait on the FREEDOM FLIGHT.  I then remained in that war-torn country for nearly a month, traveling and meeting Kuwaitis and others who had survived a brutal occupation.  To my surprise, the Kuwaiti government gave me full access to women of various nationalities who had been kidnapped and held in Kuwaiti neighborhood prisons, as sex slaves by the Iraqi soldiers.  After entering the villa where the young women were being housed, I met one of the most courageous young women I’ve ever known.  While I met a number of rape victims, Yasmeena was the only rape victim I interviewed who provided me with intimate detail of the brutalities she had endured, and survived.  And, unlike most rape victims, she WANTED her story told.  She insisted, in fact.  I’m never had any person make a stronger impression on me than that young Lebanese woman.  I believed that I would come home from Kuwait and write her story.  But I did not.  I set the book aside.  There were a variety of reasons that I postponed writing the story of Yasmeena, and of the repercussions of war rape.  But the book inside me did not slumber peacefully.  Many were the times I remembered Yasmeena,  and what she had endured.  I remembered her expressive face as she nearly screamed out her story.  I remembered the high sound of her voice as she described scenes one could scarcely imagine.  I remembered the swiftness of her movements as she leapt from her chair, into the air, and then to the chair once again. Her heartrending story was one of the most horrific this author has ever heard.  Yasmeena’s story is timeless, because even as I write these words, vast numbers of innocent women are being raped by men who are claiming their bodies as war booty.  I have alerted my readers that YASMEENA’S CHOICE is necessarily graphic, for without the detail provided to me by a war rape victim, none of us could imagine the horror of what so many women have endured.  I hope that you read this important book.  I hope that afterward, you contact your government officials and tell them that you expect all world communities to join forces to instate practical steps to ensure that war rape criminals will receive the harshest possible punishments.  We must stand together and face the perils facing so many innocent girls and women.  I believe that you will agree that all of us have a common duty to the human race to stop the worst offenses of war and violence.   

 

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My latest book just published: YASMEENA’S CHOICE: A True Story of War, Rape, Courage and Survival

  1. Tara says:

    Congrats on finishing a new book, Jean! Were you able to keep in touch with Yasmeena since the first time you met her?

    • jeansasson says:

      Hi Tara! No, not at all. She was not interested in anything but running away… However, a member of the Kuwaiti government told me that later she was put on a flight to Beirut, so I know she went back home. I hope you get to read the book. All the best, Jean

  2. abd@istar.ca says:

    I will buy the book immediately
    Hope you would write about the kuwaitis crimes against the palestinians and their exaggerated response to what the position leader arafat took so they went and punished unarmed civilians killing 5000 palestinians and imprisoning 16000
    Rana
    Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

    • jeansasson says:

      There was so much anger and disappointment but it is always sad when anyone innocent is harmed, whomever they might be. I met a lovely Kuwaiti man who had nothing but the highest praises for a Palestinian man who helped him to save little children in a special home for the disabled. Those two men were very respectful of one another. I was pleased to see that in view of how hurt most of the Kuwaitis felt about how so many of the Palestinians turned against them… Yet I know that was not the case with all Palestinians — I’ve often wondered about that man and what happened. I wonder how many Palestinians are living & working in Kuwait today. Do you know?

  3. catrina zanata says:

    I am currently reading this book and can hardly put it down! I find myself completely absorbed in Yasmeena’s world.

  4. Alison says:

    I have just finished this book and can not stop thinking about Lana and wondering what happened to her. Did you ever find out? And I would also like to say thank you for sharing these stories of the Middle East. As an Aussie and former member of the military I am embarrassed to say that I never really knew what all the unrest over there was about. Thank you for opening my eyes to something that I will never see the same again. I look forward to reading more of your work.

    • jeansasson says:

      Hi Alison, I’m sorry to tell you that no one ever found Lana’s body and that she did not turn up — so she was probably killed by that monster and tossed in a garbage bag/can and no one ever knew her fate. VERY UPSETTING. I think of her frequently and the horror and pain she endured. It’s unspeakable…

      Thank you for reading the books I write and for caring about these women. They really have it rough in so many parts of the world.

      Thank you, again, Jean

Leave a Reply

