Advice On Marrying A Saudi And Living in Saudi Arabia

This is all very interesting and good information from a woman who knows what she is talking about. She is an American married to a Saudi, and living in Saudi Arabia. You can totally trust her advice on life in Saudi Arabia.

future HUSBANDS and WIVES of SAUDIS

By Tara Umm Omar
9 April 2006

This is not an attempt to discourage anyone from marrying a Saudi national. It is written for both non-Saudi men and women from an Islamic viewpoint. No one should go into any marriage with rose-colored glasses and marriage to a Saudi is no exception. You should prepare yourself and know the advantage and disadvantages of being married to a Saudi before you make the commitment. If you are a Muslim reading this, please do not forget to pray istikharah insha’Allah.

1. The Saudi marriage permission is required for any Saudi male or female who desires to marry a non-Saudi. These days it is hard to obtain unless your husband knows an influential person (called “wasta” in Arabic) or pays through the nose with a hefty bribe in order to get the permit approved quickly. Ideally the spouse must apply for the marriage permit…

View original post 1,341 more words

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advice On Marrying A Saudi And Living in Saudi Arabia

  1. Tara says:

    Hey there, Jean! How have you been these days? I was offline for a week…apologies for the late reply. Thank you so much for reblogging this post. I didn’t realize how old it was! It was written about seven months after I came to Saudi Arabia. Much has changed in eight years. I never thought I could last so long in this country but I have come to like it. I do get annoyed from time to time at the inconveniences but the changes that are taking place ever so slowly gives me hope which motivates me to keep trudging along. Some expats have lived here for over 20 years…if they can do it…so can I!

  2. jean sasson says:

    Hey, nice to chat again — we both stay far too busy! Oh yes, I love all the good info you give, but it sounded fresh to me! (smile) I know a few things are changing, particularly with the driving — so many Saudi women seem to be pushing that and eventually they’ll just wear them down (smile).. Yes, I think there is reason to hope and I can truly understand your liking. I only stayed 12 years, but honestly, I could have been happy there forever, so long as I could come and go and visit family. People who don’t live there don’t realize how very sweet so many of the Saudis are… I’m working on a deadline but always enjoy talking to you — hopefully I’ll get caught up soon and maybe we can chat a lot more, that is if you have the time. I’ll talk later, then. Hugs, Jean

Leave a Reply

