An Iraqi Saint of a doctor with dying Iraqi children July/August 1998

With so much going on in Iraq, I thought readers might like to read about some of my experiences, and see some photos I took of Iraqis, when I visited the country in 1998…

Jean Sasson

Different degrees of dying…
Sad and sick baby.
Darling little girl
Dr. Hameed with his young patient
Business cards, Baghdad summer of 1998
The Al-Rasheed in Baghdad, Summer of 1998

I tried to post these photos at the proper place in my blog, but for some reason the site didn’t cooperate. 

In July & August of 1998 I made a memorable journey to Baghdad.  After writing THE RAPE OF KUWAIT, and hearing my “banker” volunteer driver Soud A. Al-Mutawa talk about how fond he was of ordinary Iraqi citizens, I was always curious to find out for myself how it was that so many ordinary, but nice, Iraqis had fallen under a regime who not only tortured and murdered Kuwaitis, but also tortured and murdered Iraqis.  After leaving Kuwait, I knew that I must visit Iraq.  But years passed before the timing was right.  In 1998 I felt the time had come.  Lots…

View original post 1,423 more words

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Iraqi Saint of a doctor with dying Iraqi children July/August 1998

  1. I think I personally have sold 100 of your princess books if not more. I love to travel and after a trip to turkey was interested in cultures of the Middle East . With all of that being said I came across your book in a book store. What lead me to it were the beautiful pictures on the front.
    However after reading the book you have taken a beautiful person on the outside with much compassion ,beauty on the inside and have told her story. And jean as much as people would not like to believe this One Person Does Make a difference…

    • jeansasson says:

      My dear Linda, You are the kind of person who helps to create important movements. People often ask me what they might do to make a difference, and I always say that to talk about issues of life, and to tackle them head-on, and to inform others of the aspects of life that need change, is a great way to make a difference.

      You are so right that one person can make a huge difference and I believe that Princess Sultana’s stories has touched so many lives and has helped other women, and when we help other women, we help all of mankind.

      Thank you for writing to me — today is my birthday and I consider your note a wonderful birthday gift! I’m sad a lot because the stories I tell about humanity can be very depressing and sometimes it seems that everywhere I look are a thousand huge problems that need our attention. I hope you get to read more of my books as I have written about other courageous women, too. Thank you again, Linda….

Leave a Reply

