Women driving cars…how do we start its implementation

Seems I have been reading about and discussing this issue since 1978 when I first moved to Saudi Arabia. There is NO valid reason to keep Saudi women from driving. Women will not cause any problems, although some MEN will. I enjoyed reading this very thoughtful article on the subject of women driving in the kingdom.

Saudiwoman's Weblog

Due to popular demand, I’ve translated the article I mentioned in The turning pointpost:

The difficult question of women driving was sparked by Afaf who felt oppressed and humiliated, after her driver left her alone and distraught in her car amid a busy street in the city of Riyadh. “Insulted in my country? .. Why should I have to stand helpless in a car I own, and paid for from my salary, while I have an international and well-deserved driving license from a neighboring country? Why can’t I start my car, on my own?”

Afaf’s Asian driver left her in the middle of the road on her way to work in the morning; simply because she criticized him. He turned off the car and threw her keys at her, and then stopped a taxi and got in, without heeding her appeals, or her pleas!

Riyadh newspaper carried Afaf’s question and…

View original post 2,411 more words

About jeansasson

I'm a woman with a keen interest in a wide range of topics including women's issues; animal rights issues; humanitarian issues and political movements, such as the events currently sweeping the Middle East. I am an avid reader and collector of books, mainly about travelers of the 18th and 19th centuries. I have enormous curiosity about other people and relish hearing about lives and opinions of people from all over the world. I’m the author of the PRINCESS series, GROWING UP BIN LADEN, MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ, FOR THE LOVE OF A SON, and more. Over the past two years the princess and I have met and worked together to bring out a 4th and a 5th book in the PRINCESS SERIES. The 4th is titled: PRINCESS, MORE TEARS TO CRY while the 5th, which was recently released, is titled: PRINCESS, SECRETS TO SHARE. I am currently working on my 14th book. Details to be released soon. You can visit my website (http://www.jeansasson.com/) or check out my books on Amazon for more info.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Women driving cars…how do we start its implementation

  1. mistyfan says:

    How trustworthy are the driving conditions in Saudi Arabia anyway? I’ve heard they have been terrible, with anyone (except women) able to drive no matter what their age or state of health, and people not bothering with traffic lights. Has driving improved in Saudi Arabia now or is it still as bad as I have read?

Leave a Reply

